溅射机薄膜沉积
Retrieved from Get Up! And DIY (http://gdiy.com)

薄膜存款均为期不同很多事情有用。他们顷需要一切从世俗住户镜像到复杂实验室环境它是采用量子坐月子超晶格结构薄膜。薄膜也用于对于象薄膜晶体管,电阻和电容器事情电子制造。

这是关于作为高电压溅射技法文章手段实现一薄膜涂层。然而,有其他几种薄膜沉积方法如热蒸发,脉冲激光沉积旋转涂布只是仅举几。该方法所需取决于你试图实现。溅射是一个多才多艺方法,因为它需要低工作温度和概念涉及顷不是太难理解。实施然而可漂亮昂贵取决于你如何得到您材料。

我原本开始研究溅射因为我想作出一些电玻璃。但愿会有很快一就如何使IT项目页面。有使我推迟就电玻璃工作许多因素。费用要求是几近失控我一更深一下然后开始清点注册所有必要设备。玻璃之间窗格化学制品则不是那么强硬作出或买,但真的很难一部分收购是ITO玻璃(铟锡氧化物)或某些类似透明导电玻璃片。

透明导电玻璃是由施加一个导电材料薄膜。通常什么是用于叫做铟锡-氧化氮,或ITO一化合物。的ITO玻璃厂家大部分位于中国。余能得到大小两宗有关1.5英尺床单由2.5英尺从一个瓷器制造商。他们交给我免费为样本,但它成本我约一百五十美元只是为了货运船舶从瓷器植物。有一圈没有这样。这正是我开始成溅射越来越作为创造我自己ITO玻璃一手段。

基本上,要使ITO玻璃:获取衬底材料(ITO)薄膜,放入一个真空它和炮击氩等离子体离子它。这将打跑在ITO原子其中拍摄在玻璃关闭,使一拍即导电。它的的DO -在家能干,但有一些设备所需特殊件:

超高真空
[ 编辑本段 ]

如果没有一个超高真空环境中,您将不能够创造所需的等离子体沉积。为了创造适当的真空,您需要执行两个阶段。第二阶段将建立一个“高真空”。这是通过使用类似下面的那些普通的实验室真空。真空将空气泵出了它连接到会议厅。该泵输出到了它坐落英寸的任何地方,你可以找到150美元之间五○○美元这些房间露天这一点。易趣通常有一些质量好用过的。

接下来是第一阶段,创建“超高真空”。这是通过一个涡轮分子泵的压力waaaay获取到一个可用的设置。他们是非常昂贵约为1400。下面你可以看到在左边,显示了组成的多个刀片这样的真空截面。执行是描述在中间图。 “备份泵”在这里指的是我们的第二阶段真空泵在说明以上。如果没有第二阶段的涡轮泵不能达到超高真空因为压力差过进口和出口之间的伟大。在右边你可以看到这样的真空环境中的典型类型。

真空室及特殊连接器
[ 编辑本段 ]

如果你正在创建一个超高真空室的真空,那么你选择,你如何规划建设将是非常重要的。真空室应采用不锈钢,因为它有能力举办一个高真空。不锈钢可以举行高真空,因为它是低除气材料。每一个材料上一些持有的空气量。多孔金属守住更多更多的。被困车内的空气越多,越放气的物质会发生当你想获得一个超高真空。陷在里面的金属空气吸进真空阻止实现超高真空室的压力需要你。

这里有一些商会在Ebay可在写这篇文章时不同类型:

对于某些科学程序,你必须要非常具体的真空压力,达到防止污染物进入系统的任何谨慎。在沉积过程中所需的真空并不一定是完美的。你可以按照如下所示的典型使用的一些技术,但如果程序过于高昂的成本只是做与你有你的最好的。请记住,你的要求越严格,越昂​​贵的它会。我们正在努力实现这是一个压力,足够低,使等离子形成。

为进一步防止下列技术用于气体释放的问题:

  1. 使用诸如玻璃或不锈钢低除气材料。
  2. 创建具有最小的表面积暴露在真空室的金额。
  3. 水分是一个很大的贡献气体释放。在试图达到高真空压力,分庭应先加热到200至400度C,而真空泵是拉动内室真空。我认为理想的方式做,这将是利用感应加热的它是通过采用高真空腔室的内墙壁连接线圈电压馈通连接器。理想的情况下,商会应通过offgassing打开它之后的任何时间。虽然我很好奇,知道你可以逃脱它每次不烘烤。
  4. 有关的所有密封腔连接点,特殊的全金属高真空密封用。这些都是一次性封条 - 他们对部分不锈钢刀边缘的夹心超过铜环。进入创造一个密封,是超高真空压力足够铜刀边咬。
  5. 室内的所有表面应尽可能顺利地避免坑和裂缝。这可能是由于焊接接头。焊接接头应平滑尽可能多。专业厂家使用的电解室程序,基本上是电镀相反。它消除在离分庭这使得它非常光滑的表面薄薄的一层。
  6. 尽量不要有任何螺栓头对商会内部公开为这头螺栓之间的会议厅可以捕获气体。

通常,如果你要创建氩等离子体你需要获得真空室下降到约10-6托的压力。在此之后实现,您将允许一些氩气流量进入会议厅,直到压力提高到约10-3托。

为了让所有这些气体交换和气流,你需要有你的各种仪器,通过特殊的真空管和密封连接。在真空室中使用的管也是用不锈钢制成。在每一个管的一端连接被称为真空密封法兰。典型的真空法兰在这种情况下采用的是Conflat,或CF法兰。普遍认为这是下面的左边。如前所述,每两个交配完脸有刀刃上咬成软铜垫片的CF法兰。这将创建一个密封,是超高真空获得足够。另一种常见的类型是氟化钾或资历架构。看到此正确的。这是快速释放法兰ISO标准。这个名字来自克莱法兰(KF法)或快速法兰(资历)。法兰的KF周围有一个金属环橡胶密封。然后扣​​适合各​​地的法兰和锁都紧张。

一个CF(conflat)管材和法兰用铜密封垫。
一个CF(conflat)管材和法兰用铜密封垫。
阿氟化钾- 25 T恤,O型圈,并夹紧。
阿氟化钾- 25 T恤,O型圈,并夹紧。

这是会议厅规定的其他东西是乐器和窗口。仪器和电压探头连接到会议厅使用真空馈配件。这些可以有许多不同的形状和尺寸可根据自己的目的。一些扭曲和转动或滑动进出,而其中一些是固定的,只有电压使用。这里是高电压馈入项目夫妇:

高压真空馈室。
高压真空馈室。
高压真空馈室。
高压真空馈室。

Windows是在真空世界称为视口。他们只是除了一个扩展管或一顶帽子,而不是作为一个法兰相同,视口是由它的表面玻璃。在配合面上是任何其他法兰相同。

靶材料及相关设备
[ 编辑本段 ]

我们的目标是任何材料制成的,你要存到基板上。在ITO导电玻璃的ITO基板情况下使用。这些目标出现在大约2英寸到3英寸,直径约300元的费用光盘。

为了保持在基板你需要什么样的地方被称为源枪。源枪(磁控管)也有一个磁场激发持有氩原子距衬底的表面。这可以防止燃烧的衬底。

买它在线(易趣),你可以得到约1500美元了。您也可以自己做一个正确的方式使用强磁铁。下面是一个什么样的磁控溅射源枪看起来像一对夫妇的例子:

磁控溅射源枪。目标盘坐在中间。
磁控溅射源枪。目标盘坐在中间。
磁控溅射源枪。这一个是对源光盘直径较小。
磁控溅射源枪。这一个是对源光盘直径较小。

源枪被视为它的血浆会热情明显冷却水。为了保持它的水冷你需要一个真空馈有一个管道,可容纳导致油管到源枪的大小。如果你买了枪,然后穿通源管通常包含在购买。一个50元水泵可以实现供应的冷却水源枪头源源不断的任务。

基片是你要存的薄膜上。这可以是一个硅晶片,玻璃,金属等...在薯片包装袋制造,溅射上使用塑料购物袋以涂成金属膜的内侧。在案件的ITO玻璃基板通常是,但也有可用于柔性透明导电分子所使用的某些塑料。衬底是连接到一个人在会议厅的顶部。它是在一个地方或一个真空有时粘合剂。

要制定一个统一的薄膜基材持有人有时用旋转旋转馈通附着在会议厅外面的一个步进电机。

高压电源
[ 编辑本段 ]

为了激发所有氩您将需要设置通过源枪一高压电场原子。这创造出了等离子高真空氩气环境。这应该是约600伏特(不太高)在1至2安培的电流。你可以找到像这样在eBay或直接从他们的专业公司,在电压供应。

有两种类型的电源电压可以使用溅射:直流,直流和射频,在高频交变电流。直流方法是有效的,但沉积速率很慢,而且因为是连续的轰炸目标,目标可能会过热,导致结构破坏,从而降低了目标材料的寿命。 RF是更有效,因为它使用的目标更有效率。高功率磁铁紧紧团结到目标表面的自由电子。在一个地方举行的自由电子增加了氩气电离分子的可能性。由于高浓度的离子的​​结果,有更多的目标材料的轰炸。这使目标材料存放到基材的表面更加迅速。

你可以在这个范围内的直流电源约1200美元。你可以得到约2000美元射频电源。

其他材料
[ 编辑本段 ]

氩可以购买从一个焊接用品店。 75美元之间罐150元的费用。一旦你购买了坦克,你可以储值为40美元左右了。您还需要一个高真空阀门,就可以氩储罐会议厅。你可以得到150美元到300美元这些类型的阀门。

其他指导性文章:

真空信息:

何处购买设备:

一般资讯:

溅射沉积:

评论

Sputtering Machine for Thin-Film Deposition
Retrieved from Get Up! And DIY (http://gdiy.com)
Description [ edit this section ]

Thin-film deposits are useful for a lot of different things.  They are needed for everything from the mundane household mirror to the complex lab environments which use thin-film for quantum confinement superlattice structures.  Thin films are also used for electronics manufacturing for things like thin-film transistors, resistors and capacitors. 

This article is regarding high-voltage sputtering techniques as a means to achieve a thin-film coating.  However, there are several other methods of thin-film deposition such as thermal evaporation, pulsed laser deposition and spin coating just to name a few.  The method required depends on what you are trying to achieve.  Sputtering is a versatile method because it requires a low working temperature and the concepts involved aren't too hard to understand.  Implementation however can be pretty expensive depending on how you get your materials.

I originally started researching sputtering because I want to make some electrochromic glass.  Hopefully there will soon be a project page on how to make it.  There are many factors that made me postpone working on the electrochromic glass. The cost requirements were spiraling out of control as I got deeper into it and started tallying up all the necessary equipment.  The chemicals between the glass panes aren't so tough to make or buy, but the really difficult part to acquire is the ITO glass (indium tin oxide) or some similar transparent conducting glass sheet. 

Transparent conductive glass is made by applying a thin film of conducting material.  Often what is used is a compound called Indium-Tin-Oxide, or ITO.  Most of the ITO glass manufacturers are located in China.  I was able to get two sheets about 1.5ft by 2.5ft in size from a manufacturer in china. They gave them to me for free as a sample, but it cost me about $150 just to freight ship it from the plant in china. There was no way around that.  That's where I started getting into sputtering as a means of creating my own ITO glass.

Basically, to make the the ITO glass: get a the substrate material (ITO), put it in a vacuum and bombard it with argon plasma ions.  This will dislodge the ITO atoms which shoot off at the glass and make a film that is conductive.  It's do-able at home, but there are some special pieces of equipment that are required:

Ultra High Vacuum
[ edit this section ]

 

Without an ultra high vacuum environment you will not be able to create the plasma required for deposition.  In order to create the proper vacuum you need to perform two stages. The second stage will create a "high vacuum".  This is accomplished by using a common lab vacuum like the ones below.   The vacuum will pump air out of the chamber it is attached to.  The pump outputs this into the open air of the room it sits in.  You can find these for anywhere between $150 to $500.  Ebay usually has some good quality used ones.

Next is the first stage which creates the "ultra high vacuum".  This is accomplished with a turbo-molecular pump which gets the pressure waaaay down to a usable setting. They are very pricey at around $1400.  Below you can see a cross section on the left which shows the multiple blades that compose a vacuum like this.  The implementation is described in the diagram in the middle.  The "backing pump" here refers to our 2nd stage vacuum pump in the notes above.  Without the 2nd stage pump the turbo could not achieve the ultra high vacuum because the pressure differential is too great between the inlet and outlet.  On the right you can see this type of vacuum in a typical setting.

Vacuum Chamber and special connectors
[ edit this section ]

If you're planning on creating an ultra-high vacuum then the vacuum chamber you choose and how you construct it will be very important.  The vacuum chamber should be made out of stainless steel because of its ability to hold a high vacuum.  Stainless steel can hold a high vacuum because it is a low-outgassing material.   Every material holds onto some amount of air.  More porous metals hold onto a lot more are.  The more air trapped inside the material the more outgassing will occur when you are trying to obtain an ultra high vacuum.  The air trapped inside the metal is sucked into the vacuum chamber preventing you from achieving the ultra high vacuum pressures necessary.

Here are some various type of chambers available on Ebay at the time of this writing:

For some scientific procedures you have to be very careful about achieving specific vacuum pressures and preventing any contaminants from entering the system.  The vacuum required for the deposition process does not have to be perfect.  You can follow some of the typical techniques used as shown below, but if the procedures are too cost prohibitive just do your best with what you have.  Keep in mind that the more strict your requirements, the more expensive it will be.  What we are trying to achieve here is a pressure which is low enough to allow the plasma to form.

To further prevent outgassing problems the following techniques are used:

  1. Use low-outgassing materials such as glass or stainless steel.
  2. Create a chamber with the smallest possible amount of surface area exposed to the vacuum.
  3. Moisture is a big contributor to outgassing.  Before trying to achieve high vacuum pressures, the chamber should initially be heated at 200 to 400 degrees C while the vacuum pumps are pulling a vacuum within the chamber.  I think the ideal way to do this would be to use an induction heating coil on the inside of the chamber which is connected through the chamber walls using high vacuum voltage feed-through connectors.  Ideally, the chamber should go through offgassing any time after it is opened up.  Though I'm curious to know if you could get away with not baking it each time.
  4. For all seals on connection points of the chamber, special all-metal high vacuum seals are used.  These are one-time seals - they have knife-edges on the stainless portions which sandwich over a copper ring. The knife-edges bite into the copper creating a seal which is adequate for ultra-high vacuum pressures.
  5. All surfaces inside the chamber should be as smooth as possible to avoid pits or crevices.  These can result from weld joints.  Weld joints should be smoothed over as much as possible.   Professional chamber manufacturers use an electropolishing procedure which is basically the opposite of electroplating.  It removes a thin layer off the surface of the chamber which makes it very smooth. 
  6. Try not to have any bolt heads exposed on the inside of the chamber as this can trap gas between the bolt head and the chamber. 

Typically, if you are trying to create argon plasma you need to get the vacuum chamber down to a pressure of about 10-6 Torr.  After that is achieved, you allow some argon gas to flow into the chamber until the pressure is raised to about 10-3 Torr.

To allow for all these gas exchanges and airflow you need to have your various apparatus connected through special vacuum tubes and seals.  The tubes used in a vacuum chamber is also made of stainless steel.  The connection seals at each end of a tube is called a vacuum flange.  The typical vacuum flange used in this case is the Conflat, or CF flange.  This is seen below to the left.  As mentioned before, each face of the two mating ends of the CF flange has a knife edge on it to bite into a soft copper gasket.  This creates a seal which is adequate for obtaining ultra high vacuums.  Another common type is the KF or QF.  See this one on the right.  This is the ISO standard for quick-release flanges.  The name comes from Klein Flange (KF) or Quick Flange (QF).   The KF flange has a rubber seal around a metal ring.  Then the clasp fits around the flange and locks everything tight.

A CF (conflat) pipe and flange with copper gasket.
A CF (conflat) pipe and flange with copper gasket.
A KF-25 tee, o-ring, and clamp.
A KF-25 tee, o-ring, and clamp.

Other things that are required for the chamber are instruments and windows.  Instruments and voltage probes are attached to the chamber using vacuum feedthrough accessories.  These can have many different shapes and sizes according to their purpose.  Some of the twist and turn or slide in and out while some of them are stationary and only used for voltage.  Here are a couple of high voltage feedthrough items:

High Voltage feedthrough for vacuum chambers.
High Voltage feedthrough for vacuum chambers.
High Voltage feedthrough for vacuum chambers.
High Voltage feedthrough for vacuum chambers.

Windows are called viewports in the vacuum world.  They are just the same as a flange except instead of an extending tube or a cap, the viewport is made of glass on its face.  The mating surfaces are the same as any other flange.
 

Target material and related equipment
[ edit this section ]

The target is made of any material that you want to deposit onto the substrate.  In the case of ITO glass a substrate of ITO is used.  These targets come in discs about 2 inches to 3 inches in diameter and cost about $300.

To hold the substrate in place you need what is called a source gun. The source gun (magnetron) also has a magnetic field which holds the excited argon atoms away from the surface of the substrate. That keeps the substrate from burning up.

Buying it online (eBay) you could get it for about $1500.  You can also make one yourself using strong magnets in the correct pattern.  Here are a couple examples of what a magnetron sputtering source gun looks like:

Magnetron sputtering source gun.  The target disc sits in the center.
Magnetron sputtering source gun. The target disc sits in the center.
Magnetron sputtering source gun.  This one is for a smaller diameter source disc.
Magnetron sputtering source gun. This one is for a smaller diameter source disc.

The source gun has to be water cooled as the plasma will warm it significantly.  To keep it water cooled you need a vacuum feedthrough that has a pipe which can accommodate the size of the tubing which leads up to the source gun.  If you buy a source gun then the feedthrough tube is usually included with the purchase.  A $50 water pump can accomplish the task of supplying a steady flow of cooling water to the head of the source gun.

The substrate is what you are depositing the thin-film onto.  This can be a silicon wafer, glass, metal...etc.  In manufacturing of potato chip bags, sputtering is used on plastic bags to coat the insides with a metal film.  In the case of ITO the substrate is usually glass, but there are certain plastics that can be used for flexible transparent conducting elements.  The substrate is attached to a holder at the top of the chamber.  It is held in place by a vacuum or sometimes with adhesives. 

To develop a uniform film the substrate holder is sometimes rotated using a rotary feedthrough attached to a stepper motor on the outside of the chamber.

High Voltage source
[ edit this section ]

To excite all the atoms of argon you will need to set up a high voltage electric field through the source gun. That creates the plasma out of the high-vacuum argon environment. This should be about 600 volts (not too high) at 1 to 2 amps. You can find voltage supplies like this on eBay or straight from a company specializing in them. 

There are two types of voltage supplies you can use for sputtering: DC, or direct current, and RF, alternating current at high frequency.  The DC method is effective, but the deposition rate is slow, and because the bombardment of the target is continuous, the target can overheat and cause structural damage which reduces the life span of the target material.  RF is much more effective because it uses the target more efficiently.  High powered magnets hold the free electrons close to the surface of the target.  Holding all the free electrons in one place increases the likelihood of ionizing the argon gas molecules.  As a result of the high concentration of ions, there is more bombardment of the target material.  This allows the target material to be deposited more quickly on to the surface of the substrate.

You can get a DC power supply in this range for about $1200. You can get an RF power supply for about $2000.

Other Materials
[ edit this section ]

The Argon can be bought from a welding supply store.  The tank costs between $75 and $150.  Once you buy the tank you can refill it for about $40.  You will also need a high-vacuum valve to connect the argon tank to the chamber.  You can get these types of valves for $150 to $300.

Other How-To articles:

Vacuum info:

Where to buy equipment:

General Info:

Sputtering Deposition:

Comments