الاخرق آلة لترسب الأغشية الرقيقة
Retrieved from Get Up! And DIY (http://gdiy.com)

الأغشية الرقيقة ودائع مفيدة عن الكثير من الاشياء المختلفة. وهناك حاجة لفهم كل شيء بدءا من المرآة المنزلية الدنيوية إلى بيئات مختبر المعقدة التي تستخدم الأغشية الرقيقة للهياكل الكم superlattice الحبس. كما تستخدم الأغشية الرقيقة لتصنيع الإلكترونيات لأشياء مثل شرائح الترانزيستور الرقيقة ، المقاومات والمكثفات.

هذه المقالة هو المتعلقة تقنيات عالية الجهد الاخرق كوسيلة لتحقيق طلاء الأغشية الرقيقة. ومع ذلك ، هناك عدة طرق أخرى للترسيب الأغشية الرقيقة مثل التبخير الحراري ، نابض ترسب الليزر وتدور طلاء على سبيل المثال لا الحصر. الأسلوب المطلوب يعتمد على ما تحاول تحقيقه. الاخرق هو أسلوب متعدد الاستخدامات لأنه يحتاج إلى درجة حرارة منخفضة العمل والمفاهيم ذات الصلة ليست من الصعب جدا أن نفهم. تنفيذ يمكن مكلفة جدا ولكن اعتمادا على كيفية الحصول على المواد الخاصة بك.

بدأت أصلا البحث الاخرق لأنني أريد أن أدلي ببعض الزجاج كهربائيا. ونأمل أن يكون هناك قريبا صفحة المشروع حول كيفية تحقيق ذلك. هناك العديد من العوامل التي جعلتني تأجيل العمل على الزجاج كهربائيا. وكانت الاحتياجات من التكاليف تخرج عن نطاق السيطرة كما حصلت على أكثر عمقا في ذلك وبدأ فرز في جميع المعدات اللازمة. المواد الكيميائية بين الألواح الزجاجية ليست قاسية جدا لصنع أو شراء ، ولكن الجزء الصعب حقا للحصول على الزجاج هو إيتو (الإنديوم أكسيد القصدير) أو بعض ورقة شفافة تشبه الزجاج إجراء.

يرصد شفاف الزجاج موصل عن طريق تطبيق طبقة رقيقة من إجراء المواد. غالبا ما يستخدم هو مركب يسمى الإنديوم - تين أوكسيد ، أو منظمة التجارة الدولية. وتقع معظم الشركات المصنعة للزجاج ايتو في الصين. وكنت قادرا على الحصول على ورقتين حول 1.5ft التي 2.5ft في الحجم من شركة تصنيع في الصين. أعطوهم لي مجانا كعينة ، لكنه كلفني حوالي 150 $ فقط لسفينة الشحن فإنه من المصنع في الصين. لم يكن هناك طريقة للتغلب على ذلك. حيث ان بدأت الدخول في الاخرق كوسيلة لخلق الزجاج بلدي ايتو الخاصة.

أساسا ، لجعل الزجاج ايتو : الحصول على المواد الركيزة (ايتو) ، ووضعها في فراغ ، وذلك مع قصف أيونات الأرغون البلازما. هذا وسوف إزاحة ذرات ايتو الذي تبادل لاطلاق النار من على الزجاج ، وجعل الفيلم الذي هو موصل. انها تفعل قادرة في المنزل ، ولكن هناك بعض القطع الخاصة من المعدات المطلوبة :

فراغ عالية جدا
[ تحرير هذا المقطع ]

بدون بيئة فراغ عالية جدا فلن تكون قادرة على خلق البلازما اللازمة للترسيب. من أجل خلق الفراغ المناسب تحتاج إلى تنفيذ على مرحلتين. وستبدأ المرحلة الثانية في خلق "فراغا كبيرا". ويتم إنجاز هذا باستخدام فراغ مختبر مشتركة مثل تلك أدناه. وسوف فراغ مضخة الهواء للخروج من هذه الدائرة المرفقة. ضخ مخرجات هذا في الهواء الطلق من الغرفة كان يجلس فيها ، ويمكنك العثور على هذه بمبلغ يتراوح بين 150 إلى 500 $. يباي عادة بعض منها ذات نوعية جيدة المستخدمة.

التالية هي المرحلة الأولى التي يخلق "فراغا فائقة". ويتم إنجاز هذا مع مضخة هواء توربو الجزيئي الذي يحصل على الضغط أسفل waaaay إلى إعداد صالحة للاستعمال. هم الثمن جدا في حوالي 1400 $. أدناه يمكنك ان ترى المقطع العرضي على اليسار مما يدل على شفرات المتعددة التي تؤلف مثل هذا الفراغ. ويرد وصف تنفيذ في الرسم التخطيطي في وسطه. في "ضخ دعم" يشير هنا لدينا 2 المرحلة مضخة فراغ في الملاحظات أعلاه. دون المرحلة 2 مضخة توربو لا يمكن تحقيق فائق فراغ بسبب فارق الضغط كبير جدا بين مدخل ومخرج. على اليمين يمكنك ان ترى هذا النوع من الفراغ في وضع نموذجي.

فراغ الغرفة والروابط الخاصة
[ تحرير هذا المقطع ]

إذا كنت تخطط لإنشاء خواء تام ثم فراغ الغرفة التي تختارها وكيف لبناء وسيكون من المهم جدا. وينبغي أن تكون غرفة فراغ من الفولاذ المقاوم للصدأ بسبب قدرتها على عقد الفراغ العالية. الفولاذ المقاوم للصدأ يمكن عقد فراغ عالية لأنها مادة منخفضة إطلاق الغازات. كل المواد على تحمل قدرا من الهواء. المعادن أكثر عرضة للاختراق التمسك الكثير من هي. لمزيد من الهواء المحبوس داخل المادة أكثر إطلاق الغازات سيحدث عندما تحاول الحصول على فراغ عالية جدا. هو امتصاص الهواء محاصرين داخل المعدن في فراغ الغرفة يمنعك من تحقيق غاية ضغوط عالية الفراغ اللازم.

هؤلاء بعض نوع مختلف من الغرف المتاحة على موقع ئي باي في وقت كتابة هذا التقرير :

بالنسبة لبعض الإجراءات العلمية عليك أن تكون حذرا جدا عن تحقيق الضغوط فراغ محددة ومنع أي الملوثات من دخول النظام. الفراغ المطلوبة لعملية ترسب ليس من الضروري أن يكون مثاليا. يمكنك متابعة بعض التقنيات المستخدمة عادة كما هو مبين أدناه ، ولكن إذا كانت الإجراءات من حيث التكلفة باهظة جدا تفعل افضل ما لديكم مع ما لديك. نضع في اعتبارنا أن أكثر صرامة الاحتياجات الخاصة بك ، وأكثر تكلفة سيكون. ما نحاول أن نحققه هنا هو الضغط الذي منخفضة بما فيه الكفاية للسماح لتشكيل البلازما.

لمزيد من المشاكل منع إطلاق الغازات تستخدم الأساليب التالية :

  1. استخدام مواد منخفضة إطلاق الغازات مثل الزجاج أو الفولاذ المقاوم للصدأ.
  2. إنشاء غرفة مع أصغر كمية ممكنة من مساحة السطح المعرض للفراغ.
  3. الرطوبة هو مساهم كبير في إطلاق الغازات. قبل محاولة تحقيق ضغوط عالية الفراغ ، ينبغي في البداية أن يكون ساخنا في غرفة درجة مئوية 200 حتي 400 في حين يتم سحب مضخات الفراغ فراغا داخل القاعة. وأعتقد أن الطريقة المثلى للقيام بذلك سيكون لاستخدام ملف التعريفي التدفئة في داخل الدائرة التي ترتبط من خلال جدران الغرفة باستخدام فراغ الجهد العالي من خلال تغذية الموصلات. ومن الناحية المثالية ، ينبغي أن تمر عبر غرفة offgassing أي وقت بعد أن يتم فتح. على الرغم من أنا فضولية لمعرفة ما إذا كان يمكن أن تحصل بعيدا مع الخبز ليس في كل مرة.
  4. لجميع الأختام على نقاط اتصال من الدائرة ، وتستخدم الخاصة كل الاختام المعدنية عالية الفراغ. هذه الأختام لمرة واحدة -- لديهم سكين على حواف أجزاء غير القابل للصدأ التي ساندويتش على خاتم من النحاس. لدغة حواف سكين في النحاس إنشاء الختم الذي هو كاف للضغوط خواء تام.
  5. وينبغي لجميع الأسطح داخل الغرفة على نحو سلس قدر الإمكان لتفادي الحفر أو الشقوق. ويمكن لهذه النتيجة من مفاصل اللحام. وينبغي ممهدة المفاصل ولد على قدر الإمكان. مصنعين الدائرة الفنية استخدام إجراء بالكهرباء التي هي في الأساس على عكس الكهربائي. يزيل طبقة رقيقة من سطح الغرفة مما يجعلها ناعمة جدا.
  6. حاول أن لا يتعرض أي هامات الترباس على داخل الغرفة وهذا الغاز يمكن فخ بين رئيس الترباس والدائرة.

عادة ، إذا كنت تحاول خلق بلازما الأرجون تحتاج للحصول على فراغ الغرفة لتصل إلى الضغط من حوالي 10-6 عربة. بعد أن يتحقق ، فإنك تسمح بعض غاز الارجون في التدفق إلى الدائرة حتى يتم رفع الضغط عن ل10-3 عربة.

للسماح لجميع هذه التبادلات الغاز تدفق الهواء وتحتاج إلى أن يكون الجهاز متصلا من خلال مختلف الخاص فراغ أنابيب خاصة والأختام. ويرصد أيضا الأنابيب المستخدمة في فراغ الغرفة من الفولاذ المقاوم للصدأ. ويطلق على الأختام اتصال في كل نهاية أنبوب شفة فراغ. شفة استخدام فراغ نموذجي في هذه الحالة هو Conflat ، أو شفة التليف الكيسي. ويعتبر هذا أدناه إلى اليسار. كما ذكر من قبل ، كل وجه التزاوج طرفي للشفة قوات التحالف لديها حافة السكين عليها لقضم طوقا النحاس الناعمة. ويخلق هذا الختم الذي هو كاف للحصول على الفراغات فائقة. ثمة نوع شائع آخر هو فلس كويتي أو مؤسسة قطر. شاهد واحد على اليمين. وهذا هو معيار ايزو عن الشفاه الإفراج السريع. اسم يأتي من الحافة كلاين (فلس كويتي) أو سريعة الحافة (ربع النهائي). فلس كويتي للشفة وختم مطاط حول حلقة معدنية. ثم قفل يناسب شفة حول وأقفال كل شيء ضيق.

 ألف (conflat) التليف الكيسي واضغاث شفة طوقا مع النحاس.
ألف (conflat) التليف الكيسي واضغاث شفة طوقا مع النحاس.
 و- 25 فلس كويتي كوم ، يا الدائري ، والمشبك.
و- 25 فلس كويتي كوم ، يا الدائري ، والمشبك.

الأشياء الأخرى التي مطلوبة من أجل الدائرة هي أدوات ويندوز. وترد الآلات وتحقيقات الجهد إلى الدائرة باستخدام اكسسوارات feedthrough فراغ. ويمكن لهذه الأشكال والأحجام المختلفة وفقا لهذا الغرض. بعض من تطور وتحول الشريحة أو الدخول والخروج في حين أن البعض منهم ثابتة وتستخدم فقط لالجهد. هنا بضعة من المواد العالية feedthrough الجهد :

 الجهد العالي feedthrough للغرف فراغ.
الجهد العالي feedthrough للغرف فراغ.
 الجهد العالي feedthrough للغرف فراغ.
الجهد العالي feedthrough للغرف فراغ.

ودعا ويندوز زوايا في العالم فراغ. انها مجرد نفس شفة باستثناء بدلا من تمديد أنبوب أو قبعة ، ويتكون منفذ العرض من الزجاج على وجهها. السطوح التزاوج هي نفسها أي شفة أخرى.

هدف المواد والمعدات ذات الصلة
[ تحرير هذا المقطع ]

ويتكون الهدف من أي المواد التي تريد أن تودع على الركيزة. في حالة من الزجاج يستخدم ايتو ركيزة ايتو. هذه الأهداف تأتي في أقراص حوالي 2 بوصة إلى 3 بوصة في القطر وكلفت حوالي 300 $.

عقد الركيزة في مكان تحتاج ما يسمى بندقية المصدر. البندقية المصدر (المغناطيسية) لديها أيضا المجال المغناطيسي الذي يحمل ذرات الأرجون متحمس بعيدا من سطح الركيزة. التي تحافظ على طبقة سفلية من حرق.

شراء على الانترنت (إي باي) هل يمكن أن تحصل عليه لحوالي 1500 $. يمكنك أيضا جعل نفسك واحدة باستخدام مغناطيس قوي في نمط الصحيح. وهنا بضعة أمثلة من ما بندقية المغنطرون الاخرق مصدر تبدو مثل :

 المغنطرون الاخرق بندقية المصدر. القرص الهدف يجلس في الوسط.
المغنطرون الاخرق بندقية المصدر. القرص الهدف يجلس في الوسط.
 المغنطرون الاخرق بندقية المصدر. هذا هو واحد للقرص قطره أصغر المصدر.
المغنطرون الاخرق بندقية المصدر. هذا هو واحد للقرص قطره أصغر المصدر.

البندقية يجب أن يكون مصدر المياه المبردة والبلازما الحارة بشكل ملحوظ. للحفاظ على المياه المبردة كنت في حاجة الى feedthrough الفراغ الذي يحتوي على الأنابيب التي يمكن أن تستوعب حجم الأنبوب الذي يؤدي إلى البندقية المصدر. إذا كنت تشتري بندقية مصدر ثم تدرج عادة في أنبوب feedthrough مع عملية الشراء. ويمكن لمضخة المياه 50 $ إنجاز مهمة توفير تدفق مستمر من مياه التبريد في الرأس من بندقية المصدر.

الركيزة هو ما كنت إيداع الأغشية الرقيقة على. يمكن أن يكون هذا رقاقة السيليكون ، والزجاج والمعادن... الخ. في تصنيع أكياس رقائق البطاطس ، ويستخدم الاخرق على الأكياس البلاستيكية لمعطف الدواخل مع فيلم معدنية. في حالة ايتو الركيزة عادة ما يكون الزجاج ، ولكن هناك بعض أنواع البلاستيك التي يمكن استخدامها لعناصر شفافة مرنة إجراء. ويرد الركيزة إلى حائز على الجزء العلوي من القاعة. وقيل في مكان من فراغ أو في بعض الأحيان مع مواد لاصقة.

لوضع الفيلم موحدة صاحب الركيزة أحيانا استدارة باستخدام feedthrough الروتاري تعلق على السيارات السائر على السطح الخارجي للغرفة.

هاي فولتاج مصدر
[ تحرير هذا المقطع ]

لتثير كل ذرات من الأرجون ، ستحتاج الى انشاء عالية الحقل الكهربائي الجهد من خلال البندقية المصدر. أن يخلق البلازما للخروج من بيئة الأرجون عالية فراغ. وينبغي أن يكون حول 600 فولت (ليست عالية جدا) في 1 حتي 2 الامبير. يمكنك أن تجد مثل هذا الجهد لوازم على موقع ئي باي أو مباشرة من شركة متخصصة في نفوسهم.

هناك نوعان من لوازم الجهد يمكنك استخدامها لالاخرق : العاصمة ، أو التيار المباشر ، والترددات اللاسلكية ، والتيار المتردد في وتيرة عالية. الأسلوب العاصمة فعالة ، ولكن معدل الترسيب بطيئة ، ولأن الهدف من قصف مستمر ، والهدف من الحرارة الزائدة ويمكن أن تسبب أضرارا هيكلية مما يقلل من العمر الافتراضي للمواد المستهدفة. الترددات اللاسلكية هي أكثر فعالية بكثير لأنه يستخدم هذا الهدف بشكل أكثر كفاءة. مغناطيس رفيع المستوى عقد الإلكترونات الحرة قريبة من سطح الهدف. عقد كل الإلكترونات الحرة في مكان واحد يزيد من احتمال المؤين جزيئات غاز الارجون. نتيجة لارتفاع تركيز أيونات ، هناك أكثر من القصف المواد المستهدفة. وهذا يسمح للمواد المستهدفة لتودع بسرعة أكبر على سطح الركيزة.

يمكنك الحصول على امدادات الطاقة العاصمة في هذا النطاق لحوالي 1200 $. يمكنك الحصول على امدادات الطاقة الترددات اللاسلكية لحوالي 2000 $.

ويمكن شراء الأرجون من لحام تخزين الامدادات. تكاليف دبابات بين 75 $ و 150 $. وبمجرد شراء دبابات يمكنك اعادة شحنه لمدة حوالي 40 $. سوف تحتاج أيضا صمام عالية فراغ للتواصل الدبابة أرجون إلى الدائرة. يمكنك الحصول على هذه الأنواع من صمامات 150 $ إلى 300 $.

آخر مقالات إرشادية :

فراغ معلومات اضافية :

حيث لشراء المعدات :

معلومات اضافية :

الاخرق ترسب :

تعليقات

Sputtering Machine for Thin-Film Deposition
Retrieved from Get Up! And DIY (http://gdiy.com)
Description [ edit this section ]

Thin-film deposits are useful for a lot of different things.  They are needed for everything from the mundane household mirror to the complex lab environments which use thin-film for quantum confinement superlattice structures.  Thin films are also used for electronics manufacturing for things like thin-film transistors, resistors and capacitors. 

This article is regarding high-voltage sputtering techniques as a means to achieve a thin-film coating.  However, there are several other methods of thin-film deposition such as thermal evaporation, pulsed laser deposition and spin coating just to name a few.  The method required depends on what you are trying to achieve.  Sputtering is a versatile method because it requires a low working temperature and the concepts involved aren't too hard to understand.  Implementation however can be pretty expensive depending on how you get your materials.

I originally started researching sputtering because I want to make some electrochromic glass.  Hopefully there will soon be a project page on how to make it.  There are many factors that made me postpone working on the electrochromic glass. The cost requirements were spiraling out of control as I got deeper into it and started tallying up all the necessary equipment.  The chemicals between the glass panes aren't so tough to make or buy, but the really difficult part to acquire is the ITO glass (indium tin oxide) or some similar transparent conducting glass sheet. 

Transparent conductive glass is made by applying a thin film of conducting material.  Often what is used is a compound called Indium-Tin-Oxide, or ITO.  Most of the ITO glass manufacturers are located in China.  I was able to get two sheets about 1.5ft by 2.5ft in size from a manufacturer in china. They gave them to me for free as a sample, but it cost me about $150 just to freight ship it from the plant in china. There was no way around that.  That's where I started getting into sputtering as a means of creating my own ITO glass.

Basically, to make the the ITO glass: get a the substrate material (ITO), put it in a vacuum and bombard it with argon plasma ions.  This will dislodge the ITO atoms which shoot off at the glass and make a film that is conductive.  It's do-able at home, but there are some special pieces of equipment that are required:

Ultra High Vacuum
[ edit this section ]

 

Without an ultra high vacuum environment you will not be able to create the plasma required for deposition.  In order to create the proper vacuum you need to perform two stages. The second stage will create a "high vacuum".  This is accomplished by using a common lab vacuum like the ones below.   The vacuum will pump air out of the chamber it is attached to.  The pump outputs this into the open air of the room it sits in.  You can find these for anywhere between $150 to $500.  Ebay usually has some good quality used ones.

Next is the first stage which creates the "ultra high vacuum".  This is accomplished with a turbo-molecular pump which gets the pressure waaaay down to a usable setting. They are very pricey at around $1400.  Below you can see a cross section on the left which shows the multiple blades that compose a vacuum like this.  The implementation is described in the diagram in the middle.  The "backing pump" here refers to our 2nd stage vacuum pump in the notes above.  Without the 2nd stage pump the turbo could not achieve the ultra high vacuum because the pressure differential is too great between the inlet and outlet.  On the right you can see this type of vacuum in a typical setting.

Vacuum Chamber and special connectors
[ edit this section ]

If you're planning on creating an ultra-high vacuum then the vacuum chamber you choose and how you construct it will be very important.  The vacuum chamber should be made out of stainless steel because of its ability to hold a high vacuum.  Stainless steel can hold a high vacuum because it is a low-outgassing material.   Every material holds onto some amount of air.  More porous metals hold onto a lot more are.  The more air trapped inside the material the more outgassing will occur when you are trying to obtain an ultra high vacuum.  The air trapped inside the metal is sucked into the vacuum chamber preventing you from achieving the ultra high vacuum pressures necessary.

Here are some various type of chambers available on Ebay at the time of this writing:

For some scientific procedures you have to be very careful about achieving specific vacuum pressures and preventing any contaminants from entering the system.  The vacuum required for the deposition process does not have to be perfect.  You can follow some of the typical techniques used as shown below, but if the procedures are too cost prohibitive just do your best with what you have.  Keep in mind that the more strict your requirements, the more expensive it will be.  What we are trying to achieve here is a pressure which is low enough to allow the plasma to form.

To further prevent outgassing problems the following techniques are used:

  1. Use low-outgassing materials such as glass or stainless steel.
  2. Create a chamber with the smallest possible amount of surface area exposed to the vacuum.
  3. Moisture is a big contributor to outgassing.  Before trying to achieve high vacuum pressures, the chamber should initially be heated at 200 to 400 degrees C while the vacuum pumps are pulling a vacuum within the chamber.  I think the ideal way to do this would be to use an induction heating coil on the inside of the chamber which is connected through the chamber walls using high vacuum voltage feed-through connectors.  Ideally, the chamber should go through offgassing any time after it is opened up.  Though I'm curious to know if you could get away with not baking it each time.
  4. For all seals on connection points of the chamber, special all-metal high vacuum seals are used.  These are one-time seals - they have knife-edges on the stainless portions which sandwich over a copper ring. The knife-edges bite into the copper creating a seal which is adequate for ultra-high vacuum pressures.
  5. All surfaces inside the chamber should be as smooth as possible to avoid pits or crevices.  These can result from weld joints.  Weld joints should be smoothed over as much as possible.   Professional chamber manufacturers use an electropolishing procedure which is basically the opposite of electroplating.  It removes a thin layer off the surface of the chamber which makes it very smooth. 
  6. Try not to have any bolt heads exposed on the inside of the chamber as this can trap gas between the bolt head and the chamber. 

Typically, if you are trying to create argon plasma you need to get the vacuum chamber down to a pressure of about 10-6 Torr.  After that is achieved, you allow some argon gas to flow into the chamber until the pressure is raised to about 10-3 Torr.

To allow for all these gas exchanges and airflow you need to have your various apparatus connected through special vacuum tubes and seals.  The tubes used in a vacuum chamber is also made of stainless steel.  The connection seals at each end of a tube is called a vacuum flange.  The typical vacuum flange used in this case is the Conflat, or CF flange.  This is seen below to the left.  As mentioned before, each face of the two mating ends of the CF flange has a knife edge on it to bite into a soft copper gasket.  This creates a seal which is adequate for obtaining ultra high vacuums.  Another common type is the KF or QF.  See this one on the right.  This is the ISO standard for quick-release flanges.  The name comes from Klein Flange (KF) or Quick Flange (QF).   The KF flange has a rubber seal around a metal ring.  Then the clasp fits around the flange and locks everything tight.

A CF (conflat) pipe and flange with copper gasket.
A CF (conflat) pipe and flange with copper gasket.
A KF-25 tee, o-ring, and clamp.
A KF-25 tee, o-ring, and clamp.

Other things that are required for the chamber are instruments and windows.  Instruments and voltage probes are attached to the chamber using vacuum feedthrough accessories.  These can have many different shapes and sizes according to their purpose.  Some of the twist and turn or slide in and out while some of them are stationary and only used for voltage.  Here are a couple of high voltage feedthrough items:

High Voltage feedthrough for vacuum chambers.
High Voltage feedthrough for vacuum chambers.
High Voltage feedthrough for vacuum chambers.
High Voltage feedthrough for vacuum chambers.

Windows are called viewports in the vacuum world.  They are just the same as a flange except instead of an extending tube or a cap, the viewport is made of glass on its face.  The mating surfaces are the same as any other flange.
 

Target material and related equipment
[ edit this section ]

The target is made of any material that you want to deposit onto the substrate.  In the case of ITO glass a substrate of ITO is used.  These targets come in discs about 2 inches to 3 inches in diameter and cost about $300.

To hold the substrate in place you need what is called a source gun. The source gun (magnetron) also has a magnetic field which holds the excited argon atoms away from the surface of the substrate. That keeps the substrate from burning up.

Buying it online (eBay) you could get it for about $1500.  You can also make one yourself using strong magnets in the correct pattern.  Here are a couple examples of what a magnetron sputtering source gun looks like:

Magnetron sputtering source gun.  The target disc sits in the center.
Magnetron sputtering source gun. The target disc sits in the center.
Magnetron sputtering source gun.  This one is for a smaller diameter source disc.
Magnetron sputtering source gun. This one is for a smaller diameter source disc.

The source gun has to be water cooled as the plasma will warm it significantly.  To keep it water cooled you need a vacuum feedthrough that has a pipe which can accommodate the size of the tubing which leads up to the source gun.  If you buy a source gun then the feedthrough tube is usually included with the purchase.  A $50 water pump can accomplish the task of supplying a steady flow of cooling water to the head of the source gun.

The substrate is what you are depositing the thin-film onto.  This can be a silicon wafer, glass, metal...etc.  In manufacturing of potato chip bags, sputtering is used on plastic bags to coat the insides with a metal film.  In the case of ITO the substrate is usually glass, but there are certain plastics that can be used for flexible transparent conducting elements.  The substrate is attached to a holder at the top of the chamber.  It is held in place by a vacuum or sometimes with adhesives. 

To develop a uniform film the substrate holder is sometimes rotated using a rotary feedthrough attached to a stepper motor on the outside of the chamber.

High Voltage source
[ edit this section ]

To excite all the atoms of argon you will need to set up a high voltage electric field through the source gun. That creates the plasma out of the high-vacuum argon environment. This should be about 600 volts (not too high) at 1 to 2 amps. You can find voltage supplies like this on eBay or straight from a company specializing in them. 

There are two types of voltage supplies you can use for sputtering: DC, or direct current, and RF, alternating current at high frequency.  The DC method is effective, but the deposition rate is slow, and because the bombardment of the target is continuous, the target can overheat and cause structural damage which reduces the life span of the target material.  RF is much more effective because it uses the target more efficiently.  High powered magnets hold the free electrons close to the surface of the target.  Holding all the free electrons in one place increases the likelihood of ionizing the argon gas molecules.  As a result of the high concentration of ions, there is more bombardment of the target material.  This allows the target material to be deposited more quickly on to the surface of the substrate.

You can get a DC power supply in this range for about $1200. You can get an RF power supply for about $2000.

Other Materials
[ edit this section ]

The Argon can be bought from a welding supply store.  The tank costs between $75 and $150.  Once you buy the tank you can refill it for about $40.  You will also need a high-vacuum valve to connect the argon tank to the chamber.  You can get these types of valves for $150 to $300.

Other How-To articles:

Vacuum info:

Where to buy equipment:

General Info:

Sputtering Deposition:

Comments